RTÉ Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year is HERE

Ten talented artists have been nominated

RTÉ Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year is HERE

The shortlist for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2016, in association with IMRO & IRMA, was announced today on RTÉ 2fm’s Tracy Clifford Show by Tony Clayton Lea, chairman of the judging panel.

The shortlist includes All Tvvins - IIVV, Bantum - Move, Wallis Bird - Home, The Divine Comedy - Foreverland, Lisa Hannigan - At Swim, Katie Kim - Salt, James Vincent McMorrow - We Move, Overhead, The Albatross - Learning to Growl, Rusangano Family - Let The Dead Bury The Dead, and We Cut Corners - The Cadences Of Others.

RTÉ 2fm is celebrating the announcement of the shortlist across its schedule all day today with All Irish Music All Day from 6am to midnight, as well as live sessions by last year’s winner, Soak, and 2012 winners, Delorentos.

There will also be a two-hour special on this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2016 shortlist, presented by Conor Behan from 8-10pm, and RTÉ 2fm will continue to mark the announcement of the shortlist this week and beyond through a mix of airplay of tracks from the shortlisted albums, interviews with this year’s shortlisted artists and live performances.


Honour: All Tvvins have been shortlisted for Album of the Year 

The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 9th March 2017. As part of the new partnership with RTÉ, the event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2fm in a special four-hour extended programme from 7-11pm and on RTÉ2 as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize programme, approximately one week later.

The 12th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of The Year 2016 will be announced on Wednesday 1st February, 2017. A special event featuring exclusive performances from both Album of the Year and Song of the Year nominees will be held in Dublin that evening in the Workman’s Club.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are available at all Ticketmaster outlets, priced at €26.50, including booking fee.

Sign up to our newsletter today!

Get all the latest on showbiz news, celebrity gossip, beauty, style & much more, direct to your inbox!